Rule for Sunday: Thank the People Who Take the Time to Listen Patiently and Guide Lovingly While You Learn Slowly.

We all stand on the shoulders of giants.  As interpreters we have many uncomfortable learning moments to be thankful for.

My list is long, as my arrogance is vast (it has to be to cover all my self-doubt) and my teachers, those who intended to teach me and those taught me by default, put up with a lot!

I am choosing a few, will miss many, and if you know your name should appear on this list, know that it’s there:

Jennifer Storrer-a smile and an eye-roll can teach a lot;

Carolyn Ball-blunt is not rude if you say it with love;

Jean Thomas-perseverance in pursuit of what is right is true strength;

Dale Link-sometime a “D” is the nicest way of saying you’re smart but lazy;

Bryan Eldredge-you feel like you need to say it, but you don’t;

Howard Rosenblum-deplomacy. It’s a thing;

Val Sturm-yes but you don’t need to fix this for them. They need to figure out how to fix this and may invite you to help (I’m not sure she even remembers that one);

Marla Broetz-if I ask you to help I need your help, if I don’t and you get in the middle then you are part of the problem (one of the hardest and best lessons EVER! Bless you Marla);

Jes Julander-it doesn’t matter how much skill you have if you don’t listen (annnnd bless you Jes);

Annette Miner-if I trust you, you should trust you;

And the list goes back and is added to each day and by each interaction.  

Be thankful for the hard lessons and the fun ones.  

Author: uncledalesrules

These blogs (I have two) began as a series of sayings I use to teach interpreting workshops, and political diatribes on Facebook. They moved from Facebook to this blog site: 1. as a way to remove them from my head (cuts down on the noise in there); and, 2. to give a better home to both my "less serious and satire laden posts" and my "more serious and satire laden posts." I guess it's up to you to decide which is which.

Leave a Reply

