Note from Uncle Dale: Enjoy the Little Things

Hello all! 

Uncle Dale here.  Fair warning-this “Note” is only marginally connected with interpreting. I mean there is interpreting mentioned in it, but no really good interpreting advice; except you’ve got to enjoy the little things in life.  

Last night I took first place in a storytelling competition. This competition happens every year here in Utah near April Fools Day (it’s part of a huge festival held in the summer called the Timpanogos Storytelling Festival).  

The point of the contest is to tell a story that starts out plausible but by the end is so outlandish it can’t be true.  It’s called “Utah’s Biggest Liar.”  This is my fourth year. I took 2nd, 3rd twice (won the audience choice award once… by-the-way the one advantage to taking second or third in a “lying contest” is you can tell everyone you took first. Hey! If they didn’t want me to take advantage of it they shouldn’t have left the obvious loophole!) and finally, last night, I took home the “Golden Shovel” (for realsies). 


This competition is not specifically for ASL storytelling (though come to think of it that could be fun). In the audience last night was this lovely woman:


This is Kristi.  She is one of my favorite people in the world. However, she will be the first to admit, that was not always the case.  Mainly because I was young and arrogant and… well let’s just say it took me a while to figure a lot of things out.  

Her father is a legend in Utah.  He was the man in the Deaf community that fixed things.  Without her Papa we would not have the Deaf Center or any number of the services we have today.  Anyway, I digress. 

This lovely woman and her husband drove over 45 miles in the pouring rain to sit in the front row of the competition and cheer for me. Thank you Kristi!

And now the point.

She requested interpreters. 

  

This is me telling my story. And this is the marvelous and talented interpreter who drew the short straw and had to interpret for me (come on interpreters, admit it, we are just the worst to interpret for!) 

This is Chip.  

Chip and Dale.  

Yep! You really have to enjoy the little things.  

(In answer to a question I received. Yes, my shirt says “I’m probably lying”)

Author: uncledalesrules

These blogs (I have two) began as a series of sayings I use to teach interpreting workshops, and political diatribes on Facebook. They moved from Facebook to this blog site: 1. as a way to remove them from my head (cuts down on the noise in there); and, 2. to give a better home to both my "less serious and satire laden posts" and my "more serious and satire laden posts." I guess it's up to you to decide which is which.

1 thought on “Note from Uncle Dale: Enjoy the Little Things”

Leave a Reply

