Note from Uncle Dale: The First Rule

Hello everyone,

I just wanted the take a moment and thank everyone for their excitement over the Rules. I have just as much fun making them.  Thank you!

I also wanted to announce my website.

http://www.uncledalesrules.com

It’s a work in progress but will soon be filled with videos, resources, merchandise and all things “uncley” and “Ruley” (unruley?).

People ask me if I come up with each Rule myself. The answer is mostly. I have had over 26 years to collect them in my head.  Some interpreters suggest Rules to me and I have used some suggestions with their permission.

I’ve been asked the “process” I go though to come up with the Rules. I’m not really sure “process” is the right word, but, such as it is, some Rules I have had on scraps of paper, old social media posts or in powerpoints from my workshops for years.  Some new ones come fully formed and you all get the first (and final) draft kind of unfiltered. Some Rules I think about and edit over and over, and recently I have even workshopped a few (Shout out to my Rule testers!!! Well, mostly Cameo).

Finally, someone asked me if Rule 1 was really the first Rule I thought up. No.  But I couldn’t remember what that first Rule was. I remembered when it happened and where and how though. So, I dove into my files and found the original Rule. It was written in the margin of some feedback notes I wrote for a newly certified interpreter that teamed with me (not really unusual, Rule 13 I wrote in the margin of notes from a Carla Mathers workshop).  It said:

Rule #1 if the speaker uses the word “dude” as a part of speech, don’t even bother trying to guess where this presentation is going.

So there it is.  The original Rule 1.

Then, I found Rule 2.  Maybe it should have been this Blog’s Rule 1.  I use it often in workshops and such. In fact I use it so often that I think I forgot it was a “Rule.” I shall therefore post it next in a place of honor…

So… lets see- thank you, website, Q & A… oh! Right! Sorry again about the numbering change, annnd now Rule 73 (the original Rule 2).

Author: uncledalesrules

These blogs (I have two) began as a series of sayings I use to teach interpreting workshops, and political diatribes on Facebook. They moved from Facebook to this blog site: 1. as a way to remove them from my head (cuts down on the noise in there); and, 2. to give a better home to both my "less serious and satire laden posts" and my "more serious and satire laden posts." I guess it's up to you to decide which is which.

Leave a Reply

