Rule 61

It’s important to know all the applicable Rules (not just your Uncle’s).

Judge: A Certified Deaf Interpreter? So you are saying you don’t have the skill to interpret for this witness? Because I don’t see how bringing another Hearing Impaired person into this will help.

Interpreter: Your honor the court requested my presence and qualified me as an expert in interpreting because I am fantastic at what I do. There is no question regarding my skill, I am the expert you want. As stated in Rule 702 of the Federal Rules of Evidence my “specialized knowledge will help the trier of fact to understand the evidence or to determine a fact in issue.”

It is my expert opinion that my even my formidable skill will not bridge the current gap to effective communication without the presence of a CDI, a person who possesses the expertise in bridging just such a communication gap. Thus, I renew my request for a CDI and will be happy to provide the court with resource on finding one.

Author: uncledalesrules

These blogs (I have two) began as a series of sayings I use to teach interpreting workshops, and political diatribes on Facebook. They moved from Facebook to this blog site: 1. as a way to remove them from my head (cuts down on the noise in there); and, 2. to give a better home to both my less serious and satire laden posts and my more serious satiate laden posts. I guess it's up to you to decide which is which.

Leave a Reply

