Rule 13

No Officer, I can’t make “my” Deaf person calm down.  I can’t make him do anything! Because this is not “my” Deaf person.

I never:

  1. Married;
  2. Adopted; or,
  3. Purchased this Deaf person.

What I can do is interpret for you.

Author: uncledalesrules

These blogs (I have two) began as a series of sayings I use to teach interpreting workshops, and political diatribes on Facebook. They moved from Facebook to this blog site: 1. as a way to remove them from my head (cuts down on the noise in there); and, 2. to give a better home to both my less serious and satire laden posts and my more serious satiate laden posts. I guess it's up to you to decide which is which.

9 thoughts on “Rule 13”

  1. I have a similar feeling about the VRS interpreters that “have a person who uses sign language calling you” in their intro to every call they interpret.

    You…*have* a Deaf person? What, like, in a spooky, basement pit where you lower lotion to it in a bucket?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have (a situation where there is) a deaf person calling you.

      The purpose of language is to be understood. If you understand what they’re trying to say, it was successful.

      Like

      1. However the word “have” while in most situations innocent creates a commodification label in the context of oppression. It’s communication, it’s successful, it’s a peeve.

        Like

      2. A clearer way to stay this (that doesn’t allude to a hearing person “possessing” a Deaf person) is to say, “There is a Deaf person calling you…”.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. You can have a situation, you can have an issue, you can even have a baby. But a person to whom you hold no familial ties should not be referred to in the possessive. It may seem overly sensitive from the outside but from the inside it’s a mark of oppression. On a lighter note it makes for an amusing Rule when looked at in the context of its own absurdity.

      Like

    2. I should also say that is a different phrasing. “I have someone here” is very different to the reference interpreters hear “your Deaf person.” Maybe that is the gap. To say I have a person is likely ok. To say “calm your Deaf person down” takes the personhood away from this person who is Deaf and makes them the possession of the interpreter.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

